Leadership

Special Representative of the Secretary-general (SRSG) and Head of MINUSMA, Mr. Mahamat Saleh Annadif

Special Representative of the Secretary-general (SRSG) and Head of MINUSMA

Mr. Mahamat Saleh Annadif

Mr. Annadif brings to this position extensive national and international experience. He served as Minister of Foreign Affairs of Chad (1997-2003), Chief of Staff to the President (2004-2006) and Secretary General to the Presidency (2010-2012). He also served as Permanent Representative of the African Union Commission to the European Union from 2006 to 2010.

In the course of his career, he took part in several peace processes in Africa, including in Niger, the Central African Republic and Sudan. From 2012 to 2014, he was the African Union Special Representative and Head of the African Union Mission in Somalia (AMISOM).

Mr. Annadif holds an engineering degree in telecommunications from the Polytechnic School of Madagascar.

Born in 1956, he is married and has six children. 

Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-general (DSRSG), Political Affairs, Mr. Koen Davidse

Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-general (DSRSG), Political Affairs

Mr. Koen Davidse

Mr. Koen Davidse (from Netherlands) is the new Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary General (DSRSG) of United Nations for Political Affairs of MINUSMA. He took office on 1 October 2015.

Mr. Davidse brings with him 25 years of international experience, gained during a distinguished career in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, the World Bank and the United Nations.

He was since 2011 until his recent appointment at MINUSMA, Director of Multilateral Institutions and Human Rights at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands.

Prior to that, he served as Director of Peacebuilding and Stabilization in the Ministry and acted as the Dutch Special Envoy for Sudan.

In 2006, Mr. Davidse served at the United Nations as Research Director for the Secretary-General’s High-level Panel on United Nations System-wide Coherence.  He also served in South Asia for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands and at the Permanent Missions of the Netherlands to the United Nations in Geneva and New York.

A graduate of Erasmus University in Rotterdam, the Netherlands, Mr. Koen Davidse holds a degree in international relations and political science.

 

 

Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-general (DSRSG), Humanitarian Affairs and UN Resident Coordinator, Humanitarian Coordinator and Resident Representative of UNDP, Ms. Mbaranga Gasarabwe

Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-general (DSRSG), Humanitarian Affairs and UN Resident Coordinator, Humanitarian Coordinator and Resident Representative of UNDP

Ms. Mbaranga Gasarabwe

Ms. Gasarabwe (Rwanda) brings more than 20 years of experience with the United Nations in development and humanitarian assistance, with a particular focus on Africa.  From 2001 to 2011, she served as Resident Coordinator and UNDP Resident Representative in Benin, Djibouti, Guinea and Mali.  She was appointed Assistant Secretary-General in the Department of Safety and Security in 2011. Born in 1959, Ms. Gasarabwe holds a master’s degree in economics from the University of Burundi and a master’s degree in management and business administration from the Arthur D. Little School of Management, now known as the Hult International Business School, in the United States.

 

Force Commander

Major General Jean-Paul Deconinck

Major General Jean-Paul Deconinck of Belgium succeeds Major General Michael Lollesgaard of Denmark, who completed his tour of duty on 31 December 2016.
 
Major General Deconinck brings to this position 38 years of national and international military experience with the Belgian Army. Before his appointment, he served as Commander Land Forces of the Belgian Armed Forces since September 2014. He also served in various leadership positions as Deputy Assistant Chief of Staff (Support), Commander of the Belgian Defence College and commander of the 7th Brigade (Marche-en-Famenne) of the Belgian Army. He also held the position of Force Commander, European Union Battle Group (2008-2009).
 
Major General Deconinck has a master’s degree in military and social sciences from the Belgian Royal Military academy. He is a graduate of the French War College (Ecole de Guerre, Paris), and Defence College, Brussels, Belgium.
 
Born in 1959, Major General Deconinck is married with three children.

 

MINUSMA Police Commissioner Issoufou YACOUBA

Police Chief - UNPOL

MINUSMA Police Commissioner Issoufou YACOUBA

Issoufou YACOUBA, joined MINUSMA Police on 25 May 2016. Before joining MINUSMA as the Police Commissioner, Issoufou YACOUBA was the Senior Adviser to the Minister of Interior in Niger on security matters.

After basic Military training, he started working within the Ministry of Interior of Niger in 1989 where over the years, he has acquired policing experience through various services ranging from Director General of the National Police on two occasions, Director of Public Security, Deputy Inspector General of Police, Director of Police Departments of Dosso, Agadez and Maradi regions, Deputy Director and subsequently Director of Judicial Police and Chief of Economic Crimes Investigation Division. 

Apart from his policing career, Mr. Yacouba also held a political position as the Governor of Dosso region in Niger from March 2010 to May 2011. 

On the international arena, Issoufou YACOUBA served as Deputy Police Commissioner for United Nations Operation in Burundi (ONUB) from May 2004 to July 2005 and also served in various managerial capacities within United Nations Observer Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (MONUC) CIVPOL component from July 2002 to May 2004. These included CIVPOL Chief of Staff, acting CIVPOL Commissioner, Sector Coordinator, Adviser and Trainer. He has also attended several training programmes on Security Sector Reform, Global Security and Counter Terrorism and Automated Border Control. 

Born in Niamey - Niger on 15 January 1957, Issoufou YACOUBA is a graduate of Ecole Nationale Superieure de la Police-Saint-Cyr-Au-Mont-D’Or (Lyon France), University of Cocody faculty of Law (Côte D’Ivoire), Lycée Issa Korombe (Niamey – Niger) and College d’Enseignement General de Tera (Niger).

 

Heads of Regional Bureaus

  • Timbuktu

Mr. Riccardo Maia

  • Gao

Mr. Mohamed El-Amine Souef 

  • Kidal

Mr. Christophe Sivillon

  • Mopti

M. Marc Spurling (OIC)

Leadership

Représentant spécial du secrétaire général et Chef de la MINUSMA, Mahamat Saleh Annadif

Représentant spécial du secrétaire général et Chef de la MINUSMA

Mahamat Saleh Annadif 

M. Annadif aborde ses nouvelles fonctions avec une vaste expérience tant nationale qu'internationale.  Il a été successivement, Ministre des affaires étrangères du Tchad de 1997 à 2003, Directeur de cabinet du Président de 2004 à 2006 et Secrétaire général de la Présidence de 2010 à 2012.  Il a également occupé les fonctions de Représentant permanent de l’Union Africaine auprès de l’Union Européenne, de 2006 à 2010.

Au cours de sa riche carrière, M. Annadif a participé à plusieurs processus de paix en Afrique, notamment au Niger, en République Démocratique du Congo, en République centrafricaine ainsi qu'au Soudan.  De 2012 à 2014, il a été le Représentant Spécial de l’Union Africaine en Somalie et Chef de la Mission de l’Union Africaine en Somalie (AMISOM).

 M. Annadif est titulaire d’un diplôme d’ingénieur des télécommunications de l’Ecole polytechnique de Madagascar.

 Il est né en 1956, marié et père de six enfants.

Représentant spécial adjoint du secrétaire général en charge des affaires politiques, Monsieur Koen Davidse

Représentant spécial adjoint du secrétaire général en charge des affaires politiques

Monsieur Koen Davidse

M. Koen Davidse (des Pays-Bas) est le nouveau Représentant Spécial Adjoint du Secrétaire Général (RSASG) des Nations Unies aux Affaires politiques de la MINUSMA. Il a pris fonction le 1er octobre 2015.

Monsieur Davidse, apporte avec lui une expérience internationale de 25 ans, acquise au cours d’une carrière remarquable au sein du Ministère des Affaires étrangères des Pays-Bas, de la Banque mondiale et de l’Organisation des Nations Unies.

Il était depuis 2011, jusqu’à sa récente nomination à la MINUSMA, Directeur des Institutions Multilatérales et des Droits de l’Homme au Ministère des Affaires Etrangères des Pays-Bas. 

Avant cela, M. Davidse fut Directeur de la Consolidation de la Paix et de la Stabilisation au sein du même Ministère, assumant aussi les fonctions d’Envoyé Spécial des Pays-Bas au Soudan.

En 2006, M. Davidse assumait les fonctions de Directeur de Recherche du groupe de haut niveau du Secrétaire Général de l’ONU sur la cohérence à l’échelle du système. Il a également travaillé en Asie du Sud pour le compte du Ministère Néerlandais des Affaires Etrangères et dans les Missions permanentes des Pays-Bas, auprès de l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève ainsi qu’au Siège de l’ONU à New-York. 

M. Davidse est titulaire d’un diplôme de relations internationales qu’il a obtenu à la Faculté des Sciences Politiques de l’Université Erasmus de Rotterdam.

 

Représentante Spéciale adjointe du Secrétaire général de la MINUSMA, Coordonnatrice humanitaire, Coordonnatrice résidente du Système des Nations unies au Mali, Mme Mbaranga Gasarabwe

Représentante Spéciale adjointe du Secrétaire général de la MINUSMA, Coordonnatrice humanitaire, Coordonnatrice résidente du Système des Nations unies au Mali

Mme Mbaranga Gasarabwe

Mme Mbaranga Gasarabwe (Rwanda) apporte avec elle plus d’une vingtaine d’années d’expérience dans les domaines humanitaire et du développement au sein des Nations Unies, axée en particulier sur l’Afrique.  De 2001 à 2011, elle était Coordonnatrice résidente et Représentante résidente du PNUD au Bénin, à Djibouti, en Guinée et au Mali.  Elle avait été nommée Sous-Secrétaire générale pour la sûreté et la sécurité en 2011. Née en 1959, Mme Mbaranga Gasarabwe est titulaire d’une maîtrise en économie de l’Université du Burundi, ainsi que d’une maîtrise en gestion et administration des affaires de l’Arthur D. Little School of Management, connue désormais sous le nom de Hult International Business School, aux États-Unis.

 

 

Commandant de la Force

Le Général de division Jean-Paul Deconinck 

Le Secrétaire général de l’ONU, M. António Guterres, a annoncé le 2 mars 2017, la nomination du Général de division Jean-Paul Deconinck de la Belgique, au poste de Commandant de la Force de la Mission multidimensionnelle intégrée des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation au Mali (MINUSMA). Le Général de division Deconinck a pris officiellement ses fonctions le 11 avril 2017.

Il succède au Général de division Michael Lollesgaard du Danemark, qui a achevé son mandat le 31 décembre 2016.

Le Général de division Deconinck possède 38 ans d’expérience militaire nationale et internationale au sein de l’armée belge. Avant sa nomination, il était Commandant de l’armée de terre des forces armées belges, et ce, depuis septembre 2014.  Il a également été Chef d’état-major adjoint, Commandant du Collège de défense belge et Commandant de la 7e brigade (Marche-en-Famenne) de l’armée belge.  Il a également été, de 2008 à 2009, le Commandant de la force du Groupement tactique de l’Union européenne.

Le Général de division Deconinck est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences militaires et sociales de l’Académie royale militaire belge.  Il a également reçu le diplôme de l’École de Guerre, à Paris, et celui du Collège de défense, à Bruxelles.

Né en 1959, le Général de division Deconinck est marié et père de trois enfants.

 

 

Le Commissaire de la Police de la MINUSMA Issoufou YACOUBA

Commissaire de Police - UNPOL

Le Commissaire de la Police de la MINUSMA Issoufou YACOUBA 

Le Commissaire Issoufou YACOUBA, né à Niamey au Niger le 15 Janvier 1957 a successivement effectué ses études au Collège d'Enseignement Général de Téra, au Lycée Issa Korombé de Niamey, à la faculté de droit de l'Université de Cocody (Côte d'Ivoire) puis Diplômé de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure de police de Saint-Cyr-Au-Mont-d'Or (Lyon France).             

Avant de rejoindre la MINUSMA en tant que commissaire de police, l’Inspecteur  Général de Police Issoufou YACOUBA était le conseiller principal à la Sécurité du ministre de l'Intérieur du Niger. 

Il a commencé à travailler au sein du ministère de l'Intérieur du Niger avant d'être incorporé  en 1989 à la Police Nationale du Niger et ce, après une Formation Militaire de Base. Il a acquis une expérience de police à travers divers postes de responsabilité dont, Directeur de la Sécurité Publique, Directeur Départemental de la police des Régions de Dosso, Agadez et Maradi, Directeur de la Police Judiciaire et Chef de la Division des enquêtes et crimes économiques, Directeur Général Adjoint de la Police puis deux fois Directeur Général de la Police nationale. 

Outre sa carrière de Policier, l’Inspecteur Général de Police Yacouba a été  également le Gouverneur de la région de Dosso au Niger de Mars 2010 à mai 2011. Sur le plan international, de Juillet 2002 à mai 2004, Issoufou YACOUBA a été  au sein de la Mission des Nations Unies en République démocratique du Congo (MONUC), Conseiller, Formateur CIVPOL, Coordonnateur de Secteur, Chef d'Etat-major CIVPOL, Commissaire CIVPOL par Intérim. De mai 2004 à Juillet 2005,  Issoufou YACOUBA est resté Commissaire Adjoint de la Police sur le théâtre des Opérations des Nations Unies au Burundi (ONUB).

Il a également participé à plusieurs programmes de formation sur la gestion de la sécurité, la  réforme du Secteur de Sécurité, la Lutte Contre le terrorisme et le trafic illicite des drogues puis le Contrôle Automatisé des frontières.                                      

 

CHEFS DE BUREAUX REGIONAUX

  • Tombouctou

M. Riccardo Maia

  • Gao

Mr. Mohamed El-Amine Souef 

  • Kidal

M.Christophe Sivillon

  • Mopti

M. Marc Spurling  (OIC)